Font and padding - lack of consistency!

I’m new to CLEAR.

Nice app, simple and easy to use (once you’ve found the hidden back button!!).

But, what I really dislike is the lack of consistency in font sizes and font padding between pages. Why is it not consistent? Surely that would be easy to achieve?

Also, why is the font padding seemingly not related to the font size, e.g., If you choose a ‘tiny’ font size the padding is relatively large. Why? Surely that too would be easy to achieve?

So, my suggestion is:

1. A ‘slider’ where you can change font size that effects all of the pages on the app uniformly.
  2. A ‘slider’ where you can change font padding that effects all of the pages on the app uniformly.

Pleeeeeaaaaase! :smile:

3 Likes

The scaling tied to hierarchy in the app is a design decision so you just instantly/subconsciously have a sense of how ‘deep’ you are in the app as you navigate between levels, even if say using a color theme that skins every level of the app the same pink color you like, etc.

But we do plan on a pass where we will probably tighten the padding scaling per level for tiny/small settings. I can understand that the people picking those are probably looking in general to up the info density on-screen.

1 Like

Aaah, I see, so the reducing font size is designed to give you an indication of where (how ‘deep’) you are in the app. I think the very fact that I hadn’t noticed that means that it doesn’t achieve that goal! Sorry!

i suppose a person may want the start/‘main menu a different font size or type, to differentiate it, but from my perspective, and for the sake of a cleaner design, I’d just have the font size the same all the way through. There are only three pages ‘deep’ all the same, it’s not that you can really get lost!

Others may differ in opinion but that would be my preference.

Maybe you could offer the option? Reducing font size or uniform font size?