Bring Back the Old Clear

First off, I appreciate the work on the New Clear. I was excited to see activity on the development on an application that I have been using for about 13 years now.

Unfortunately, the new version has significant changes that render the application unusable for me.

1. The lack of sync is number 1. No sync = Useless

2. The UI hiding the iOS / iPadOS status bar. Who thought that was a good idea? I live my days mostly on the Clear app. I need to see the status bar when I am in it.

3. Not being able to see at a glance the number of active items in a list.

4. Clear on iPad not having the list of lists visible at all times.

5. Slow responsiveness of the UI on older devices. There is a very noticeable delay while typing in New Clear on older devices. On top of that, the horrid animations make it feel clunky compared to the clean and simple animations of Old Clear.

I would gladly pay hundreds of dollars to get the Old Clear back. It worked. And it worked reliably for me. In the mean time, I will be exploring other options.

Let me know if you bring back Old Clear.

7 Likes

For those on the lookout for apps to switch to from New (Broken) Clear, I have been testing Remember The Milk for the past half a day. I prefer the UI of Old Clear but Remember The Milk might end up being my replacement

3 Likes

Number of active items in a list! So that’s what’s missing! I couldnt’ put my finger on it. Would love to have that feature back.

@mickeychor what iPhone are you rocking btw? Am wondering if I should update to Clear 2.0 on my older iPhones.

I have an iPhone 13 Pro and M1 iPad Pro. The responsiveness is good there.

Also use an iPhone XS, an iPhone XS Max, an older iPad Mini, and an older iPad Air. Poor responsiveness and laggy on those devices

Totaly agree i feel the same way

2 Likes